Batman V. Superman Review

By Morgan Dyche

Not too long ago I decided to go to the movies. I paid for my ticket, bought some popcorn, and then I took my seat. I then proceeded to spend the next 2 hours and 33 minutes of my life watching a screen that was nothing but a giant middle finger pointing at me, and by that I mean I saw Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice.

I will go on record and say that I have not been excited or interested in this film from the moment they announced it. Mainly because I am not a fan of director Zack Snyder, but that’s another story for another day. It’s safe to say that I didn’t have high expectations for this film.

With that, I can honestly say that this film is just another popcorn flick. It exists on the sole purpose of getting people to buy tickets and popcorn. Even worse, it isn’t a very good popcorn film.

This is probably one of the most boring superhero movies I’ve ever seen. The plot is absolutely nonsensical and the haphazard editing doesn’t help that at all. The worst part about this film though is the fact that none of the characters are likeable at all.

The overly dark nature of the film makes it hard for me to get behind and care about the characters. I’m not saying that the acting was bad, many of the performances are great. Ben Affleck is an absolutely awesome Batman. The problem is the characterization of Batman. Actually, the problem is all of the characters.

I’m pretty sure Batman would use his “World’s Greatest Detective” badge and actually find a reason to fight Superman other than just to sell movie tickets. This movie’s plot could have been solved if all of the characters just sat down together and had a conversation, but instead they are all too stupid so they just fight.

I’m also disappointed that Lex Luther’s part wasn’t bigger in the film. Even when he is in the film, he is kind of speaking nonsense.

Now I know that everyone is saying this, but I can’t avoid it because it is true. The best part of the film is the end fight. It truly is an awesome fight. Snyder can really shoot an action sequence, but he shouldn’t base his movies on one fight scene. It just doesn’t work like that.

All and all, the film is good for a mindless trip to the theater, but that’s about it. This is a really disappointing introduction to DC Comic’s film universe and honestly makes me even more hesitant about Suicide Squad than I already was. I have some words of advise to Warner Bros. when it comes to their superhero movies… “Stop giving Zack Snyder money!”