Fame and Living in a Small Town

By Damian Powell, Contributing Writer

   Some would say that having fame is not what it is cracked up to be. Others want to be noticed. People can be famous for sports, acting or their body image. There can be high school fame which can be for horrendous things or it could mean being in the marching band, playing a sport or just being that person who talks to almost everyone

damian

Photo Provided by Damian Powell                 Powell (pictured on left) at a senior year            baseball game.                                                            

   I was all those things in my school because everyone knew everybody. I went to PawPaw High School. There were about 100 kids from grades 7 to 12.  My school was so small! My “fame-status” came when I was playing basketball or baseball. In high school, I played varsity basketball for four years but only two years of varsity baseball. No matter whether it was my first game or the last game, I felt nervous before every one. It didn’t matter if I listened to music or talked to my teammates.

   As we ran out on the court I would see parents, faculty and other students in the stands yelling and cheering for us. Cheerleaders were yelling and trying to get everyone moving. The lights shining down on me and my teammates and everyone watching was my sense of fame. Those people cheered, yelled and wanted me to succeed.

   With that type of atmosphere I felt like I was famous and playing in the college level or even in the NBA. Other teams knew who I was and talked about my performance. I was no Michael Jordan or Ricky Rubio. I was Damian Powell, an average high school basketball and baseball player. People knew me. That was my taste of fame.  

   In baseball I did not feel as much of the rush as I did in basketball. Being in the outfield, most people don’t notice you. However, they would call me “Fairy” because of how I would leap, jump and dive for the ball. I made the All- PVC first team in my high school conference.

   It may have only been tri-state wide, but it was something to be proud of. Not everyone has that chance to feel like they are important or noticed, but I got that experience from my high school. It truly showed me that hard work can pay off if you try. I miss the high school limelight, but I am ready to move on and find another sense of fame.

clt3524

Photo provided by City Data                          Location of Paw Paw