5 Reasons Why I Want to Be a Writer

Pile-of-Books

Photo courtesy of Google.

Article written by Trevor Kesner

Passion is what drives the writer’s pen. The ink on the page is the blood of the soul. Someone who wants to write fiction is someone who wants to tell the story of the mind. They could even be called gods of their own world. They craft the stories that the character’s experience. Writers are the maestroes of both the happy and the sad. I make this sound like a grand profession, but of course they are not without their hardships.

This isn’t some dream job. To get there is a difficult journey in itself. You have to submit draft after draft until someone eventually takes pity on you. You could rewrite your beloved story six or seven times before someone takes notice of the blood, sweat and tears placed into the work.

images

Stress can cause failure.Photo courtesy of Google.

 

Failure

Failure is a big part of being a writer. Constant rejection can cause your drive and passion to take a nosedive. Being told no and being forced to tackle the same work repeatedly can cause frustration, anger, and maybe even depression. This blog is a statement, or rather, my reasons for wanting to take this challenge on. These are the five reasons that I want to be a writer.

  1. Writing for the Point of Writing

I want people to see and experience my work. Ever since I was little, I was always told that I had quite the imagination. I’d play with a piece of wood thinking it was a sword, fighting the baddies in my imagination. Of course, as I got older, the outlet for my creativity changed from stick to pen. In high school, I’d pay more attention thinking about what to write rather than the teacher at the whiteboard. I would spend hours just writing down lines or ideas in my notebook that was supposed to be used for school. I felt this passion well up inside every time I’d get lost in thought.

sword1

Your imagination feeds your stories. Photo courtesy of Google/ Getty Images.

Fiction Writing Tips

An Experience Unlike Any Other

When I write, it’s like everything make sense. This is what I want to do and this is why I enjoy doing it. Regardless of if I can make a career out of it or not, I think I will continue writing till the day I die.

  1. Writing for a Career

If possible, I would like to write as a career. Art used to be a draw for me, but not as much as the written word. I’ve swayed back and forth between wanting to learn history and wanting to write. Ultimately my drive to write won out over the dusty book of Carthaginian civilization.

carpathian ruins

Part of ancient Carthaginia, photo courtesy of Reddit.com

AP Style Writing Tips

Difficulty of Getting Published

Credible publishers know what they are looking for. It’s a competition more than anything. Your work has to be better than the next guys or you’re going to be out of luck. I believe that I can do it. I have talent for structure when it comes to writing so hopefully that will carry me to where I want to go.

 

  1. Writing to Combat Mortality

Death will eventually take us. This is the law of life. The body will age and eventually return to dust from whence it came. Writing, for me is a tool to fight against the tides of time. Whether I write a memoir or fiction, I will be able to place a marking stone for the future. My name will be remembered by ages past when I am long gone.

Crazy Reason to Write?

Maybe I’m just selfish. The books I write might just be washed away to nothing. Ultimately, this may just be my way of coping with the fact that I will eventually die. Nevertheless, I want to write for this reason among others. If this is a way to live forever then I’ll gladly take it. In my opinion, to be remembered in reverence is one of the best things that can happen to an author.

graveyard

Death is not the final chapter, photo courtesy of gothic.net

  1. Writing to Share My Work

If you ask any writer why they write, this is likely one of the answers you will get. I want to be able to share my work with others. I want to discuss the implications of the work I release, the world, and the characters, all of it. In high school, I longed for the ability to talk to someone about the swell of creativity storming around in my head. If I just openly talked about it to people, they would look at me like I was speaking a different language. Being alone with my own creative thoughts was like torture.

In addition, it also serves as a suppressor for someone’s passion. Writers in history like the famed poet Emily Dickinson who never once shared her work publicly. Some people treasure the ability to write and share it privately. Of course those people exist. I am not among them. I want to write to open up my mind to people who want to read my creations.

Some of Emily Dickinsons Poetry

  1. Writing to Challenge Myself

I want to challenge myself. I want to see if I can make a career out of the thing I love to do the most. Spending hours doing the thing I want to do is what makes me happy. It is both a hobby and what I want my future to be. Many talented authors sometimes got lucky or worked hard to get where they are today. I want to set that milestone for myself to become a successful writer. Word counts are one thing, but writing a good story is another. My familial situation might not be the best and my current environment might put a damper on that dream.

Do What You Want to Do

Nothing can hold me back. I’m going to take my future by the reins and lead my life out of here. You should do the same. If other people look down on your dream, just scoff and walk right past them. You’re the only person who can control you. No one can force you to do something you don’t want to do. So do what you want to do. Share your dream like I shared mine.

writers sign

Art reflects life, create the best one you can, photo courtesy of Pinterest.com